Silhouettes

For Christmas I made my parents their presents. I decided to give them my own take on old-fashioned silhouettes. They are now the proud owners of their own silhouette portraits πŸ™‚

After weeks I finally have time post this tutorial πŸ™‚

By the way you need watercolor paints, and masking fluid. You can use other paints but you need to think of a substitute to the masking fluid.

Step 1: I took photos of my parents against our white garage door. I then took the photos and converted them to black and white on gimp (a free photo editing software). I also desaturated them. Basically I clicked anything I could think of to have a clear outline of their silhouettes. (I don’t want to post the images I used, their faces can be clearly seen and I want to protect their privacy.) After I was done I printed the images out.

Step 2: Trace your silhouettes onto the paper you will be using. Use any method you like.

Step 3: Once you have your outline on the paper take your masking fluid and fill the inside of your image. Use an old brush or one you don’t care about. Masking fluid ruins brushes. Despite this masking fluid is amazing because it will keep the area underneath it clear of paint. KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA The masking fluid I used. I’m fairly sure that mine’s old despite me buying only a week before using it. It’s way too thick. Well that’s Wal-Mart for you πŸ˜›

Step 4: After the masking fluid is dry you can start on the fun part πŸ™‚ Basically you splatter your water colors in any way you like over your paper.Β  If you want better directions refer to my galaxy shoes tutorial. Tip: adding water to the paint makes it easier to splatter. Experiment with the amount of water you add πŸ™‚ KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I got my watercolors from Dollar Tree. Their alright but they’re fairly lightKONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

What your project looks like after you’re done spattering it.

Step 4: This part is pretty fun too πŸ˜€ After the paint is all dry it’s time to peel of the masking fluid. Just rub lightly until it starts peeling then carefully pull.KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

It looked alright at this point but I thought it would be more dramatic if the silhouette was easier to see. If you don’t think it looks finished yet then move on to the next step. I think if the paint was darker I would have left it this way.

Step 5: At this point I took my acrylic paint and carefully filled in the middle of the silhouette. KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I wish I had a better photo of how it turned out. It looks awesome but since my camera sucks it doesn’t look as cool in the photos.

My parents loved this and I’m sure you can do your own take on it with no problems. Give it a try πŸ˜€

 

 

Leave a Reply

