Oh, When I Think of Monte Cristo

To be honest I never do think of Monte Cristo. I actually had to google it to find out that it’s off the coast of Italy 🙂 Good thing that I’m not thinking about the island or the book (The Count of Monte Cristo). I am thinking about the sandwich.  This one to be exact:20130315-203737.jpg

Looks great, huh? It’s simple to make, too 🙂

Ingredients:

Any type of cheese you want (I used Swiss and Munster), white bread, sandwich meat, mayonnaise, 1/4 cup milk, and 3 eggs. Jam is optional, but preferable.

Step 1: Build your sandwich!

In other words you’re building a double decker sandwich. Spread mayonnaise on the three slices of bread. Place your cheese on the bread, then a couple slices of sandwich meat. It’s up to you how much. Stack the bread to form your sandwich.

Step 2: Cook it!

You can cut off the crust if you want, but you don’t really have too. Make sure to smoosh the bread to make the sandwich thinner. Next wisk together the eggs and the milk. This mixture is enough for quite a few sandwiches. Now get your pan ready because next you pan fry the sandwiches. I put a butter and corn oil mixture in the pan. After it has heated up dip your sandwich into the egg/milk mixture. Coat it evenly. Now place on the pan and cook both sides until it is golden on both sides.

Step 3: Eat it!

Here’s the fun part. It’s also fairly straight forward (I’d hope so anyway 😉 ) I suggest dipping your sandwich into jam or something sweet like that. That’s the way you’re supposed to eat it anyway 🙂

I like these sandwiches, even though I really don’t like cheese so that saying something 🙂

Do any of you have an interesting, simple recipe that you enjoy? I’d love to hear about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

