Cake Roll Art

Success!!! I made personal history today. I made my (and surprisingly my mom’s) very first cake roll! And it’s a bit different from what you’d expect πŸ™‚ Strawberry Chevron Cake RollSee? It has a chevron pattern on it πŸ™‚ Sadly I forgot to take pictures during the process but it is simple to do this.

I suggest you start with this website (andcute.com). I found a pin on Pinterest and it led me to that website. It is helpful but I didn’t follow the directions exactly…hehe πŸ™‚

I used a different cake recipe. It’s just a simple sponge with just eggs, flour, and sugar. It is very similar to the one on the website but not in grams. Anyway when that’s all mixed the fun part starts.

Take some into another bowl and add food coloring to taste. You’re going to put it into a piping bag with a small decorating tip. My mix ended up being way to thin and it kept dripping out the tip of the bag. I had to add flour to make it thicker but it still ended up being drippy.

Place a piece of parchment paper on your pan. Then pipe your design onto that paper. When you’re done put it into the oven for a minute. I did a bit longer than that and parts started to get very close to burning πŸ™‚ Now just take it out of the oven and pour the rest of the batter on the pan and bake.

The tricky part is getting out of the pan and flipping the cake again since it’s a big sheet. Sadly the blue part got stuck to the parchment paper in places. I think the flour I added to the blue changed the consistency of the batter too much so it didn’t want to stick to the white batter. Then again it’s possible that I over-baked the blue part a bit.

Supposedly the cake is less likely to break while rolling if you roll it while it’s hot. Without any filling that is. Just let it cool in a roll, then add the filling.

Anyway the filling is 1 cup heavy whipping cream, powdered sugar to taste, and 1 tsp of vanilla pudding. Just whip it up and spread over the roll. I then sprinkled cut up fresh strawberries over the cream and rolled it up.

That’s it πŸ™‚ I hit a few snags along the way, but that’s part of the learning experience πŸ™‚ It looks pretty good for a first try, and it tastes even better πŸ™‚

chevron cake roll

Have any of you tried this kind of roll before? How’d it go? πŸ™‚

 

2 comments on “Cake Roll Art

  1. chimcheey says:

    Never seen or heard of a cake roll before…seems like it would be fun to make and looks delicious! I think I’ll try making one myself, thanks for the post.

    • LyubovP says:

      Thank you! I’m surprised you haven’t heard of one before. I see them in stores constantly πŸ™‚ Anyway making it sounds more intimidating then it actually is πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

