Where’s the End?

I felt rushed today. Not by life circumstances, not by work, not by family. I felt rushed by a book of all things. It seems to me that newer published authors have developed a nasty habit. The books they write have potential, until you get to the end. Only a few pages seem to sum up and conclude everything that has happened in the last 300+ pages. The conclusion is smooshed into a handful of pages. And it makes me feel rushed along. Like I’m being forced to stop reading and hurry to some other activity. Whatever happened to a nice ending that concludes at a pace that is consistent with the rest of the book? One that fits with everything? One that makes the last page seem perfectly placed?

This seems like a strange thing to rant about, but that’s what happens when you just finished reading a book that was good….but something was lacking (namely the ending). I just finished Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson. It’s a retelling of the Bluebeard fairytale. I like retellings of fairy-tales. I liked reading this one. It had potential of being a favorite of mine, until I got to the end. I finished reading it and realized that the end just did not fit. It felt too fast. Everything happened in five pages or so. Then 3 weeks passed by within a paragraph, and it didn’t make sense. The end felt more like an outline of events then a final draft. It seemed like there where details missing, or anyway, more could have been added.

This isn’t the first time I have come across this tendency. It seems like every newer young adult novel I’ve read (and some adult novels) do this. It’s like no one knows anymore how to write a decent ending. They come close but not close enough. I’m pretty sure that if you can spend half the book setting up the beginning of the plot, then you can devote a couple of chapters to wrap up the ending nicely (and in a way that makes sense).

Maybe I’m the only one who feels this way. Who knows? It’s possible I just get excited for the end and hurry through reading it. But I think that’s unlikely considering I have this problem with the more recently published novels. What do you guy’s think? Do I have a point or am I just being weird?

Leave a Reply

