Free Candy Colored Arm warmers Pattern

Hi!

I promised you guys more crochet patterns…well I’ve obviously been procrastinating. I promise I wasn’t only slacking off!! I was on a family vacation for a week (the rest of the time was lazing around…hehe). I finally decided to show you guys another project you can crochet (that doesn’t involve baby patterns :D)

I have a wonderful fake leather jacket but it has frigid sleeves ๐Ÿ˜› So I have to wear something with sleeves underneath in the winter. But I have some outfit ideas in mind involving some tank tops I bought this summer…and I don’t want to freeze. To combat the cold (not that Oregon gets very cold, I’m just a walking icicle) I made myself a set of arm warmers. I also really wanted to use my wonderfully bright coral yarn ๐Ÿ˜€

striped arm warmers(Sorry but the pictures are going to suck today… I’m using my phone and it’s not cooperating. It doesn’t help that the coral color I used is disliked by my camera because it’s so bright ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Anyway these arm warmers go up to about my elbows. I’m sure you can make them shorter or longer easily. The pattern is fairly simple. The ribbed edges are made using a single crochet back and forth in the back loops only. The rest is made using double crochets.

LINK TO PATTERN: www.mooglyblog.com/all-grown-up-arm-warmers/

Tip: Now the pinstripe is a bit more difficult. I have two different types on mine. If you look closely you’ll see that most of the pinstripes are upraised and you can see the braiding clearly. It also gives the arm warmers a stacked cup look. At the wrist the pinstripe is flatter. I’m pretty sure it’s supposed to be the second way.

striped arm warmersThe top line is the first way I was describing. The bottom line is the second way. Following is the description of how I did both ways. I think I just misunderstood the pattern so do whichever way you think is according to the pattern (personally I think it’s the second way). These both require back post stitches.

1st method: In this method you do a back post stitch but you do the easy way around the post of the double crochet. In other words do not go through any loops in the back. Don’t hook into the row you just made. Go just below the top edge of the double crochet. There will be little resistance when you do this.

2nd method: This time when you back post crochet go through the loop in the bottom of the top edge of the double crochet (if that makes sense). It will be a bit difficult to pull thru. This way you make sure to hook through the top edge of your double crochet.

I suggest looking up tutorials of back post crochet and see what you make of it. I’m a fairly new crocheter so I don’t know how to explain this properly. Whatever way you do it I’m sure it will turn out great ๐Ÿ˜€

Now I’ll leave you guys with a photo from my lovely vacation to the Cove Palisades ๐Ÿ™‚

Cove Palisades, Oregon

What projects would you guys like me to attempt? I could use some more ideas ๐Ÿ˜›

By the way all you lovely people, don’t forget to check out my Etsy shop ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

