Resin Jewelry Tips

So I finally made a new batch of resin pendants πŸ™‚ This means that all of you are in luck πŸ˜€ I will finally give you the tips about resin that I’ve been promising you from the creation of this blog πŸ™‚

Supplies

All the supplies I use are pretty cheap (being broke makes you very creative).

1. Buy disposable medicine measuring cups in bulk. If you pour resin often it will be a whole lot easier to just throw them away instead of washing them (trust me on this). You can buy decently priced ones on amazon, here.

resin measuring cups

2. The sticks I use to mix the resin are drink stirrers I bought at Dollar Tree. Just wander around and see what would be comfortable and easy to use for you. The pack I have are long, and plastic. To be honest I think anything will work, as long as you don’t use it for food later on.

Resin Stir sticks

3. I use a thick, old, wooden cutting board and an octagon Silpat under the pieces I’m filling up with resin. The Silpat is great. It’s normally pricy but my dad found one at Goodwill for a fewΒ  cents (I love that place!). The cool thing about the Silpat is that resin will not stick to it, so even if you spill you can just peel the spill off when it sets πŸ™‚ If you don’t want to spend the money (which I don’t), just find a level board, old cutting board, whatever you use just make sure you don’t mind ruining it. Resin will spill and set. It is impossible totally wipe up resin.

resin set up

Resin

4. The resin I use is EasyCast Clear Casting Resin. I think there may be better option out there. It’s hard to get it to cure completely solid (I’m working on a remedy and will let you know ;)). It sets fairly fine, it’s just not glass hard. The price is fantastic though with a 40% off coupon at Michaels so I can deal with it πŸ™‚ This is the best, biggest tip that I will ever give you: Warm up your resin! Take a bucket or something, pour warm water into it, place your resin bottle in in and leave it until the bottles are warm to the touch when you take the bottles out.Β  If the bottles are cold, it will not set properly!

Warming up resin

5. Along the same lines as the previous tip, make sure you let your resin cure someplace warm. Mine sit on the kitchen table, by the heating vent, and this is still not always enough. The ideal temperature is between 75F and up apparently. This is why your resin will cure a whole lot better in the summer.

Randomness

6. If you’re embedding anything in the resin and need to glue something in (or seal paper), I suggest using Mod Podge. White Elmer’s glue looks dark and a bit weird under resin, in my experience.

7. Wearing gloves while working with the resin may be a good idea. If you get any on your bare hands it will feel a bit weird. I’ve heard that some people can get rashes from it (after all resin is chemicals).

 

Now if you don’t feel like attempting your own pieces anymore, you can always buy them from me πŸ˜‰ Click here. Or help me expand my business and donate to my Indiegogo campaign here (you get a custom piece of jewelry and no shipping cost!) πŸ˜€

2 comments on “Resin Jewelry Tips

  1. Katherine says:

    Great tips! Love hearing a newbie’s experience with resin!

    • LyubovP says:

      Aww, thank you! πŸ˜€ I thought it was a smart idea πŸ™‚ It would have helped me lots if I had come across another newbie’s experiences. Somehow the helpful basics never get covered by experienced resin workers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

